News: Yen Press Licenses Kagerou Daze, Absolute Solitude

(pictured: Absolute Solitude)

(pictured: Absolute Solitude)

Some more exciting news to share, as Yen Press quickly reveals more light novel localizations following their announcement of forming the Yen On imprint. Titles to be translated and published in 2015 will include Sword Art Online: Progressive, Kagerou Daze, and Absolute Solitude.

Though we’re certain this next title needs little introduction, SWORD ART ONLINE: PROGRESSIVE, written by Reki Kawahara and illustrated by abec, is a retelling and expansion on the events that took place during Sword Art Online: Aincrad. Expect the light novel and the manga adaptation illustrated by Kiseki Himura in 2015!

KAGEROU DAZE, written by Jin and illustrated by Shidu, joins Shintarou Kisaragi, a NEET—person “Not in Education, Employment, or Training”—who has refused to leave the comfort of his room for two whole years. But Shintarou’s easy and solitary life is about to take an unexpected turn when his computer crashes and he is forced to venture into the world he was happy to shut out forever…and stumbles into the middle of a hostage situation! Find out what the world has in store for Shintarou in the original light novel and the manga adaptation illustrated by Mahiro Satou in early 2015!

Our last treat on the list is one that we’re absolutely thrilled to announce! ABSOLUTE SOLITUDE is the latest light novel series announced by Reki Kawahara, the acclaimed author of the Sword Art Online and Accel World series. With illustrations by Shimeji, the novel will publish for the first time in Japan in the very near future, and we could not be more excited to be bringing this one to you right from the jump!

Yesterday I posted a little about the top-selling light novels in Japan for the first half of this year, and notably Kagerou Daze was at the top of the list with over 800,000 copies sold. The series currently has an anime adaptation in the form of Mekaku City Actors, and the franchise in general has become popular partly through its connection with a series of Vocaloid music videos. It is interesting to see Yen Press acting quick in bringing over the latest big thing on Japan’s light novel shelves.

Just as interesting is how quickly Yen Press is publishing the latest from Reki Kawahara, the most popular light novel author in the last couple years. Absolute Solitude (Zettai Naru Kodoku) was a web novel series he worked on the same time as Sword Art Online, but was only announced in February that it would be receiving a print release in Japan in the near future. The situation reminds me a bit of the manga simulpubs Yen Press has worked on. I appreciate how they’re working to lower the time between Japanese and English release for some of these series though, and in the end it may pay off well for them to keep series fresh and timely.

Also worth noting: In a recent tweet, Yen Press mentioned that Absolute Solitude will be a hardcover release.

With the announcement of localizing Absolute Solitude and Sword Art Online: Progressive, this means that all four of Kawahara’s light novel series will eventually be in English. Fans of SAO and Accel World will have lots of stories to read in upcoming years, and the readership will likely continue to build upon each release.

Some more details on Zettai Naru Kodoku (also transliterated as Zettai Naru Kodokusha Isolator):

7 responses to “News: Yen Press Licenses Kagerou Daze, Absolute Solitude

    • Look for “Mekaku City Actors” on Crunchyroll, and you’ll be able to see the anime episodes that have been released so far.
      I was also surprised by the news of the Kagerou Daze light novels being licensed. I plan to give that one a read once it releases.

  1. Pingback: The Current State of English Light Novels | Fantastic Memes·

  2. Pingback: The June 2014 Line-Up | Reverse Thieves·

  3. Pingback: The June 2014 Line-Up | JanNews Blog·

  4. Pingback: The June 2014 Line-Up | TiaMart Blog·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s