English Title: Moribito
Japanese Title: 守り人シリーズ — Moribito Series — “Guardian Series”
Author: Nahoko Uehashi
Illustrator: Makiko Futaki, Miho Satake, Yuko Shimizu
Translator: Cathy Hirano
Genre: Fantasy, Adventure
Original Run: 1996 – 2012
English Run: 2008 – 2009
Volumes: 12
English Publisher: Scholastic
Volumes Published in English: 2 (Discontinued)
Average Price Per VolumePaperback $8 — Hardcover $17 — Kindle $7 — Nook $8

Synopsis: Balsa was a wanderer and warrior for hire. Then she rescued a boy flung into a raging river — and at that moment, her destiny changed. Now Balsa must protect the boy — the Prince Chagum — on his quest to deliver the great egg of the water spirit to its source in the sea. As they travel across the land of Yogo and discover the truth about the spirit, they find themselves hunted by two deadly enemies: the egg-eating monster Rarunga . . . and the prince’s own father.

Volume 1 — Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository

Volume 2 — Moribito: Guardian of the Darkness
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository

Note: The Moribito series was originally published as children’s literature. It gained a large audience among adults as well, and later prints were reminiscent of light novels. The English editions include the illustrations from Yuko Shimizu.

Any broken links or incorrect information? Any thoughts on these light novels?
Leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Moribito

  1. For those wanting to read this series, the entire thing has been fan-translated.
    Guardian of the Dream:
    All other books:

Leave a Reply