Sorcerous Stabber Orphen: The Wayward Journey

Sorcerous Stabber Orphen

English Title: Sorcerous Stabber Orphen: The Wayward Journey
Japanese Title: 魔術士オーフェンはぐれ旅 — “Majutsushi Orphen Hagure Tabi”
Author: Yoshinobu Akita — 秋田禎信
Illustrator: Yuuya Kusaka — 草河遊也
Translator: Andrew Hodgson (Vols 1-6), Amy Osteraas (Vols 7-on)
Genre: Fantasy, Action, Magic
Original Run: May 1994 – September 2003
English Run: August 2018 – ongoing
Japanese Publisher: Fujimi Fantasia Bunko (Fujimi Shobo)
English Publisher: J-Novel Club
Volumes in Japanese: 20 (Completed)
Volumes in English: 9 (In Progress)
Average Price Per Volume: Kindle $7 – iBook $7 – Kobo $7 — Nook $7
Note: Also available to read online through a J-Novel Club subscription. This series is currently digital-only.

Synopsis: Orphen is a Sorcerer drop-out from the prestigious Tower of Fangs. His journey to save Azalie, a girl he looked up to like a sister, has brought him to the bustling city of Totokanta. Here they are reunited for the first time in five years. But what is the truth behind her monstrous transformation, and just what secrets lurk behind the Sword of Baldanders…?

Volume 1 — Heed My Call, Beast!
AmazoniBookGoogle PlayKoboNookBookwalker
Released August 26, 2018 — ASIN: B07FPNJW3N

Volume 2 — Obey My Command, Doll!
AmazoniBookGoogle PlayKoboNookBookwalker
Released October 30, 2018 — ASIN: B07HK5SY31

Volume 3 — Rest Within My Heart, Ghost!
AmazoniBookGoogle PlayKoboNookBookwalker
Released December 30, 2018 — ASIN: B07KBZRD5Y

Volume 4 — Gather in My Forest, Wolves!
AmazoniBookGoogle PlayKoboNookBookwalker
Released March 18, 2019 — ASIN: B07MFWXG8Q

Volume 5 — I Erase My Past, Assassin!
Amazon — iBook — Google Play — Kobo — NookBookwalker
Released November 09, 2019 — ASIN: B07WHMJBRT

Volume 6 — Come to My Tower, Successor!
AmazoniBookGoogle PlayKoboNookBookwalker
Releasing February 09, 2020 — ASIN: B082DZH3HJ

Volume 7 — Come My Will, Demon King!
AmazoniBookKoboGoogle PlayBookwalker
Releasing July 12, 2020 — ASIB: B087QSM6QY

Volume 8 — Rain on My Holy City, Tears of Blood
AmazoniBookKoboGoogle PlayBookwalker
Releasing September 20, 2020 — ASIN: B08CD41QHC

Volume 9 — Train Your Arrow Upon My God, Apostate! (Act 1)
Amazon — iBook — Kobo — Google Play — Bookwalker
Released November 18, 2020 — ASIN: B08HM6KWSL

Reviews of Sorcerous Stabber Orphen

  • Justus R Stone — Vol 1
  • Manga Bookshelf — Vol 1

Illustrations Sampler

Original Anime Adaptation

MAL Entry — 24 episodes — Aired October 1998 – March 1999
Note: Season 1 loosely adapted volume 1. The following seasons were anime-original material.

Remake Anime Adaptation

MAL Entry — Aired January 2020 to ?

Manga Adaptation

MAL Entry — 6 volumes — Published December 1997 – January 2001 (English release by ADV Manga)

New Manga Adaptation

MAL Entry — Published May 2019 – Ongoing (English release by Seven Seas)
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook DepositoryRightStuf

If you liked Sorcerous Stabber Orphen, you might also want to try…

If you find any errors or broken links in this entry, leave a comment!

4 thoughts on “Sorcerous Stabber Orphen: The Wayward Journey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s