Yen Press Announces Eleven New Titles for Future Publication

Yen Press Announces Eleven New Titles for Future Publication Banner Image

NEW YORK, NY (11/6/20) – Yen Press, LLC announced a slate of upcoming titles that include light novels (The King of Death at the Dark Palace, Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below + 5 Centimeters per Second), manga (Hazure Skill: The Guild Member with a Worthless Skill Is Actually a Legendary Assassin, I’m the Catlords’ Manservant, Hard-boiled Stories from the Cat Bar, I’m the Hero, But the Demon Lord’s Also Me, Uncle from Another World, Your Turn to Die and Afterschool Hanako-kun) and both the light novel and manga adaptation of If the RPG World Had Social Media.

Hazure Skill: The Guild Member with a Worthless Skill Is Actually a Legendary Assassin (manga)

Hazure Skill: The Guild Member with a Worthless Skill Is Actually a Legendary Assassin Manga Cover

Story by Kennoji

Art by Fuu Araki

Character Design by KWKM

With a worthless skill, Roland managed to kill the most powerful demon lord that’s ever lived. While he could have all the riches in the world, all Roland really wants now is a normal life. Such an unremarkable existence may not come easy to someone so exceptional, however…

Hazure Skill: The Guild Member with a Worthless Skill Is Actually a Legendary Assassin is a stylish manga adaptation of the highly-anticipated light novel series by the same name. The previously announced light novel series is scheduled for a March 2021 release under the Yen On imprint.

I’m the Catlords’ Manservant

I’m the Catlords’ Manservant Manga Cover

Story and Art by Rato Kitaguni

Izumi Yukihara, high school second year. His life is completely average—until a series of misfortunate events turn his life upside down. As if losing his parents weren’t enough, he’s saddled with their massive debt and forced to relocate to a new residence. On the bright side, the owners of his new residence offer him a chance to repay his debt…by serving cats?!

A quirky manga series that is as hilarious as it is adorable! This series appeals to the ever popular genre of cat manga such as Nyankees and Chi’s Sweet Home.

Hard-boiled Stories from the Cat Bar

Hard-boiled Stories from the Cat Bar Manga Cover

Story and Art by Ono Yourei

An assassin unable to get over the loss of his cat, a man with a scar on his cheek, and a feline named Dandy that is waiting for its master to return are at the center of this gritty tale of men and tears.

A cute twist on hard-boiled crime manga, this charming yet gritty standalone title appeals to those who are fond of noir fiction and beautiful illustration. Additionally, Hard-boiled Stories from the Cat Bar appeals to fans of manga featuring beautiful men, such as Monster and the Beast and Penguin Gentleman., and, of course, fans of cat manga!

I’m the Hero, But the Demon Lord’s Also Me

I'm the Hero, But the Demon Lord's Also Me Manga Cover

Story by Akiyoshi Ota

Art by Tatsuya Endo

Yuuma Tsugari is an ordinary high school student whose family runs a public bath house. He leads a peaceful, uneventful life, but all that changes when a beautiful woman from another world appears before him, certain that he’s the hero she’s been searching for! Sure, he’s no hero, but how can he refuse such a beauty…!?

This romantic comedy manga involving traveling between worlds filled with beautiful women is a welcome treat to fans of fantasy manga that are heavy on the fanservice! With a mature take on the ecchi fantasy genre, this series appeals greatly to fans of To Save the World, Can You Wake Up the Morning After with a Demi-Human?

If the RPG World Had Social Media (light novel)

If the RPG World Had Social Media Japanese Cover

Story by Yuusuke Nitta

Illustration by Yukinatu Amekaze and LOL

When a fantasy world has fully functioning internet and smartphones (for some reason), it’s only natural for its sixteen year-old Hero to declare war on the Demon Lord via text message. But is it natural for that Demon Lord to be an innocent snowflake who hates conflict…!? Take a peek into this unfortunate Hero’s chatlog with a…unique group of RPG characters, like an overly pure Demon Lord, her cheerful Generals (who all adore her), and the kidnapped princess who seems to be developing a major crush on her captor!

While there have been plenty manga and light novels that have placed fun twists on fantasy storytelling, If the RPG World Had Social Media goes deep into the concept of social media and text communication in a fantasy world coupled with a fun adventure! This light novel series is perfect for fans of In Another World with My Smartphone

If the RPG World Had Social Media (manga)

If the RPG World Had Social Media (manga) Cover

Story by Yuusuke Nitta

Art by Sato Kamegoya

When a fantasy world has fully functioning internet and smartphones (for some reason), it’s only natural for its sixteen year-old shut-in of a Hero to declare war on the Demon Lord who has kidnapped the kingdom’s princess via text message. But is it natural for that Demon Lord to be an innocent snowflake who hates conflict!!? And somehow, this hopelessly weak Level One Hero ends up texting this overly pure Demon Lord, her cheerful Generals (who all adore her), and the princess who also seems to be developing a major crush on her captor as he goes about his adventures!

This two volume manga adaptation of If the RPG World Had Social Media captures all of the fun and silliness of the light novel series with a cute art style portraying the events of our hero’s adventure as well as all of the quirky texting and social media interaction in between!

Uncle from Another World

Uncle from Another World Cover

Story by Akiyoshi Oota

Art by Tatsuya Endou

When a middle-aged man wakes up from a seventeen-year coma, he tells his nephew Takafumi that he’s been adventuring in another world. It’s a generation gap comedy starring an uncle who bridges two universes!

Uncle from Another World goes back and forth between the real world and the fantasy world as a comatose uncle who spent the past 17 years living in another world recounts his adventures! This isekai manga playfully puts twists on well known tropes that are sure to please fans of the ever popular genre.

The King of Death at the Dark Palace (novel)

The King of Death at the Dark Palace Japanese Cover

Story by Tsukikage

Illustrations by meron tomari

When a sickly boy succumbs to illness only to reawaken as a weakly undead, his first thought is not of horror, but joy. Sadly, his delight is cut short by the realization that he is still not in control of his own body. The excruciating pain that plagued him in his previous life has simply been replaced by the necromancer that brought him into this one. Now, to win true freedom, he must put his unlife on the line and fight for his dark master…!

An intense fantasy light novel series involving a resurrected protagonist seeking freedom and solace. A story that goes into darker places than many other light novels, this series is a long-awaited release for fans of horror light novels such as Torture Princess: Fremd Torturchen.

Your Turn to Die: Majority Vote Death Game

Your Turn to Die: Majority Vote Death Game Manga Cover

Story and Art by Tatsuya Ikegami

Sara Chidouin has been getting harassed by a mysterious stalker lately, so her concerned friend Joe Tazuna decides to walk her home. But once they arrive, the two of are attacked by someone and black out. When they come to, they find that they’ve been restrained to some tables in a strange room…

Your Turn to Die: Majority Vote Death Game is a manga adaptation of the popular virtual novel by the same name, one that tells the tale of an assortment of people trapped in a death game. This manga is naturally a must read for fans of the prolific series as well as for fans of similar visual novels such as the Danganronpa series.  

Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below + 5 Centimeters per Second

Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below + 5 Centimeters per Second Japanese Cover

Story by Makoto Shinkai

Experience in a new way the worlds of acclaimed animation director Makoto Shinkai’s award-winning romantic drama 5 Centimeters per Second, along with the adventure of Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below, in this two-in-one novelization!

The newest addition to Yen On’s beautiful collection of hardcover novel adaptations of Makoto Shinkai’s finest works, Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below + 5 Centimeters per Second is a bind up collection that retells the stories from two of Shinkai’s earlier works. With 5 Centimeters per Second standing out as one of the films that introduced Makoto Shinkai to the West, this collection is a highly-anticipated release for fans of one of today’s most beloved creators. 

Afterschool Hanako-kun

Afterschool Hanako-kun Cover

Story and Art by AidaIro

The ghostly Hanako-kun and his mortal assistant Nene Yashiro usually have their hands full resolving various supernatural incidents in Kamome Academy, but how do they spend their time when they get a break from all that? Come and see what the characters of Toilet-bound Hanako-kun do on their laid-back afterschool days!

Afterschool Hanako-kun is a fun manga spin-off of Toilet-bound Hanako-kun that showcases what fan favorite characters are up to in between events of the main story. With Toilet-bound Hanako-kun enjoying success as the best-selling new manga series of 2020, Afterschool Hanako-kun is sure to please many fans eager for more Hanako-kun!

About Yen Press, LLC

Yen Press, LLC is a joint venture between Kadokawa Corporation and Hachette Book Group. Founded in 2006, YenPress has quickly risen to become one of the largest and most prolific publishers of manga and original graphicnovels in the North American marketplace and a driving force in the introduction of light novels and Japanese literature to new readers through its Yen On imprint. For more information, visit www.yenpress.com.   

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s